Connect with us

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Bucs decided on team captains. Jameis Winston, Gerald McCoy didn’t get picked

TAMPA — The Buccaneers finally decided on their team captains for this season, and two notable names — defensive tackle Gerald McCoy and quarterback Jameis Winston — were not among those picked.

The team selected five captains: two on offense — wide receiver Mike Evans and tackle Ali Marpet — two on defense — linebackers Lavonte David and Kwon Alexander — and linebacker Adarius Taylor on special teams.

Head coach Dirk Koetter said the quintet will be the captains for the remainder of the season.

This will be David’s fifth straight season as captain. As a fifth-year captain, he will get a gold “C” on his jersey. It is the second year for Alexander and Evans as captains. Marpet and Taylor are captains for the first time.

This ends McCoy’s six-year stretch as defensive captain dating back to 2012. Winston, playing in his fourth year in the league and making his second start Sunday following a three-game suspension, had been a captain for the past two seasons.

Teams can have up to six captains, so they can select one additional designated captain for each game.

The players’ vote on team captains was delayed because coach Dirk Koetter said last week he wanted to prevent against selecting those to wear the “C” on their jerseys by a “popularity” contest. Koetter also wanted his team to get some games in before putting the decision up for a vote.

For the first five games, the team selected captains for the pregame coin toss on a week-by-week basis.

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Tampa Bay Buccaneers